Guerlain Myrrhe et Delires

Okay so I disappeared again for a month. Whoops! I’ve been working hard for money to afford books and perfume remember? I’ll post some of the fruits of my labor later this week.

I received a decant of Myrrhe et Delires as one of those fruits.

P017151.png

Guerlain Myrrhe et Delires

The little cap on top of my decant smells like what violet candy tastes like to most young people: violets, vanilla, resin, and soap.

Wet on my wrist, it progresses quickly at the beginning, the soapiness fading away, the licorice leaping in, and then fading into a sweet, resinous anise reminiscent of Nin Jiom Pei Pa Koa (Chinese cough syrup.) This stuff is delicious and is doled out to Asian children when they had sore throats. It’s basically liquid honey lozenge, so feel free to order it through Amazon and give it a sip. The only high it’s going to get you is a sugar high. Myrrhe et Delires is Nin Jiom Pei Pa Koa in fragrance form with a couple of violet thrown in.

Warmed and dry on the skin, bergamot sits on the resins, tonka, and sweet licorice and lifts the powdery violet and savory rose so that they aren’t sucked into dark syrup. My boyfriend also thinks it smells like makeup, and I don’t think the flowers disagree. After half an hour, the herbaceousness becomes even more pronounced, the myrrh really dominating the left side of my nose, while the licorice and bergamot work together to create something akin to root beer. I wonder if it’s a root I smell or the myrrh has that carrot-like effect I try to stay away from. I don’t actually mind it in this one, but I will admit it was distracting. Otherwise, it’s a dark, concentrated root beer with a violet overlay that lasts for about 3 hours, whereupon it becomes face powder and all of the interesting bits unfortunately fade away.

Myrrhe et Delires is a dark with a streak of brightness, and an exercise in dousing a cold drink in warmth. This belongs on a person whose elegance includes a few wrinkled hems and soft smiles and maybe really, really likes the color purple

 

Leave a Reply

